If candy bars grew on trees

I wish candy bars grew on trees. Whenever that urge for a treat would hit me. I would go to my candy bar tree, reach up and harvest a mouth watering treat. If candy bars grew on trees, surely they would be full of vitamins and minerals to make us healthy. I have a feeling candy bars would be hard to grow organically. I think they would be very attractive to ants.

If candy bars grew on trees, there would be less garbage littering the streets. If candy bars grew on trees, I bet we would buy them from small farmers or grow them in our backyards instead of purchasing them from large corporations because they would be farm fresh and delicious instead of coming from places and people we don’t know or trust.

You know and I know the candy bar tree is a fantasy, but what if a candy bar could come from trees instead of grow on trees? Would they be just as virtuous? I think so. I can’t lie to you and tell you that a candy bar that comes from trees would have less calories than a regular candy bar, but I don’t think I would be lying if I told you that it would be healthier for you. It might take some getting used to, because it would not be the same as biting into a chunk of fat, sugars and salt, but I think you could easily get used to a candy bar that was made of luscious whole food ingredients.

Wanna make a candy bar?

The first tree we’ll have to look for is Prunis dulcis: The almond tree.

Photo by Alfonso, creative commons 2.0 license
 
 We’ll go pick some almonds. We’ll roast them and use them whole and chopped.

Our second tree will be Phoenix dactilylifera: The date palm.

Photo courtesy Wikipedia.org, creative commons 2.5 license

 

We’ll pick close to a couple of dozen dates and pit them

Those first two trees can be found within driving distance of me, but the third one grows in the tropics. We’ll have to get on a plane to find Theobroma cacao: The cocoa tree.

Photo by Claus Bunks courtesy of wikipedia, public domain license

 

We’ll need to pick the fruits, ferment them, clean the beans, roast the beans, liquefy them and then make dark chocolate.

Ha! You knew I was lying about harvesting the ingredients, didn’t you? If not, I got you! Valrhona makes a good 71% bittersweet chocolate, let’s use that.

That’s it. Our chocolate bars are three ingredients. These three ingredients are rich in manganese, vitamin E, magnesium, iron, potassium, B vitamins, fiber, polyphenals and minerals. The bars are super healthy and luxurious. Can your snicker’s bar claim that?

Dark chocolate covered almond stuffed dates

3 ½ oz bar bittersweet chocolate (I used a 71% dark chocolate bar)

About 20 pitted fresh dates. Use Deglet noor or any other large date

1 cup roasted whole almonds. (I used unsalted almonds. Using salted almonds is your call but I don’t think it’s necessary).

Line a cookie sheet with parchment.

Stuff each date with one or two almonds depending on the size of the date. Chop the remaining almonds coarsely and set aside. Melt the chocolate in a double boiler stirring until smooth. Dip a stuffed date into the chocolate, turning to coat. Set it on the parchment lined tray and sprinkle with chopped almonds. Repeat with each stuffed date. Put cookie sheet into the refrigerator for at least 30 minutes to help the chocolate set. Serve immediately or store in a airtight container in the refrigerator

 

21 Comments

  1. April 6, 2010 at 8:15 pm

    Divine! Candy bar tree, I’d have an orchard!
    I trust you saw this article recently
    http://abcnews.go.com/Health/HeartDiseaseNews/chocolate-boasts-blood-pressure-benefits/story?id=10243200
    My grandmother used to make a date candy that everybody just loved.
    This looks excellent.

    • Mimi said,

      April 6, 2010 at 9:40 pm

      Thanks Tanna,
      Good article.

      I also read that chocolate reduces stress too.

      What I have read elsewhere is that it has to be dark chocolate, not milk chocolate because you want a bar that is at least 70 % chocolate for any health benefits to occur. So make sure you get a nice dark bar. But for me, a bar in the 80% range has so little sugar that it doesn’t taste as good. It’s more like black coffee to me.

  2. ronnie said,

    April 6, 2010 at 10:52 pm

    I make trail mix, but seeing this post makes me realize how easy it would be to melt the chocolate and make candy bars. I thank you, but my waistline does not.

    • Mimi said,

      April 6, 2010 at 11:00 pm

      It’s the least I can do since everytime I go to your blog there is nothing but cakes. Delicious cakes. I love cake…

  3. April 7, 2010 at 7:23 am

    I like that thought a lot, candy bar trees. If they were in existence, I wonder whether fruits and veggies would become the treat? If there were candy bar trees, I would believe that they need some kind of protective peel to fight against bugs and sticky fingers…it would be hilarious if they grew with a plastic candy wrapper with nutritional info attached. Let’s just go to Wonka’s forest ;]

    By the by, your candies look divine.

  4. Andreas said,

    April 7, 2010 at 11:23 am

    So,in a way candy bars do grow on trees.
    On three separat trees, but still growing on trees.

  5. drfugawe said,

    April 7, 2010 at 12:23 pm

    I think Andreas may be on to something – now if only a modern Luther Burbank could combine them all into one tree, voila!

    I’ve always kinda thought of a date tree as a candy tree -but then I don’t have one in my yard, so I don’t know if you just pick off the ripe dates and eat ’em, or if you must do something to make them ripe. But if you just pick them ripe and eat them, then it’s already a candy tree!

    I’d also nominate my Stella sweet cherry tree as a legitimate candy tree!

    • Mimi said,

      April 7, 2010 at 12:49 pm

      Since dates are 70% sugar, I was already thinking that the date tree is the candy tree, but I was trying to be the PT Barnum of the blogging universe today. Shhhhhh!

  6. Jeanne said,

    April 7, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    I’d definitely plant a candy bar tree! For me, the ultimate candy tree is Acer saccharum, the sugar maple. But unfortunately, they don’t grow in this region of the country. Thanks for including the Latin names, I just love learning scientific names for plants!

  7. Joanne said,

    April 8, 2010 at 11:25 am

    It’s actually amazing how much more nutritious these are than storebought chocolate bars. yeah. If chocolate grew on trees. The world would be a better place.

  8. April 9, 2010 at 2:04 am

    […] Candy Bar Trees – Dates, Almonds, and Dark Chocolate, need I say more? […]

  9. stacy said,

    April 9, 2010 at 10:43 am

    Mimi, I love this post so much!

    I was just standing in the kitchen the other day wondering how I could make candy bar knock-offs at home. Excuse me, I need to go research nougat.

    • Mimi said,

      April 9, 2010 at 10:53 am

      I’ll have to follow you back to your blog and spy on you. I want nougat too!

  10. Champa said,

    April 9, 2010 at 11:15 am

    I loved this. I am definitely going to try this one.

  11. Tania said,

    April 9, 2010 at 11:56 am

    Easy to make, easier to eat! They are so delicious!

  12. Jacqui said,

    April 10, 2010 at 12:01 pm

    I wish I had a candy bar tree too! Love the idea of chocolate and almond stuffed dates, right up my ally as the perfect snack!

  13. Chai Chai said,

    April 10, 2010 at 7:01 pm

    I think I gain weight every time I look at this site. I had to stop reading this post midway to get a napkin. BTW, if candy bars grew on trees I would own an orchard.

    I have sent links to this site to my sisters, I know they will enjoy it.

  14. nico said,

    April 11, 2010 at 8:16 pm

    I really don’t care about the calories…they look good!

  15. April 13, 2010 at 1:52 am

    This is lovely! But how am I gonna make this, no dates here!

  16. Elle said,

    April 16, 2010 at 9:21 pm

    Don’t care if they are healthy as all get out…they look decadent and delicious…and your photos are stunningly beautiful!

  17. Chantal said,

    March 25, 2011 at 5:48 am

    By way of extention – Can anyone remember that childrens book that actually showed tree’s growing plates of cake, sweets, etc.? I’m trying to locate the title for a friends little one.
    Ta,
    C


Leave a comment