Meet the next 5 pounds you will add to your hips

I have to dedicate this blog post to my boyfriend. He telecommutes most of the week and goes in to work a couple of days. On his telecommuting days, he is less stressed out and he is really happy. On the commuting days…he usually somehow seems to run out of time getting ready for work. The most awful things happen to delay him (and they are never his fault!) and he gets crabby as he realizes he is going to show up late and have to work well into the evening. Today was one of those days.

When I used to work, I had mornings like that too. Now I don’t. So when I see his morning spinning out of control, I just try to stay out of the way and hope for the best. This morning I had to be a little in the way because I was on a mission to make a sourdough knockoff of the Gruyere-Stuffed Crusty Loaves from the King Arthur site. I didn’t mean to help delay him, but I may have gotten in the way enough to get a little bit of the stink eye. Well, I’ll make it up to him with what I am about to show him and you. I stumbled onto this recipe the other day and when I saw that they were little loaves packed with cups and cups of cheese until they burst in the oven like little volcanoes of cheesy goodness, I had to say “sign me up!”

So this blog post is dedicated to F. who will see an email on his blackberry when I post to my blog. I am hoping it will make him giddy with anticipation over coming home to eat this bread with some lamb stew. I’m hoping he will smile and not care that I ate half a loaf already (in the interest of testing these breads for the good of the blog, of course!).

I started the dough last night. I decided that a half cup of starter would give the sponge just enough umph to power this dough. The next day when I didn’t see the bubbly mass that the site said I should, I added more starter to the dough itself. It worked out well. I stored the dough in the oven with a touch of heat and the light on and the dough puffed up really high.

These work like cinnamon rolls but you fill them with cheese! Three cups worth. Yes you heard that right!!

These are melty good loaves! In went a mixture of aged sharp provolone and aged sharp white cheddar. I also decided to add a lot of garlic and a mixture of fresh herbs which included rosemary, oregano, thyme, sage and fennel fronds. I wanted the cheese to ooze herbs and garlic. Oh yeah!

Make sure you line your cookie sheets with parchment.

When you bake the loaves, they will ooze and ooze. But they come out of the oven so brown and pretty!

Here is the glamour shot where you get to see the flavor, the fat and the calories just oozing and glopping out of the bread. It was so delicious that I had to have three slices. Good thing my lamb stew is a WeightWatchers recipe, lol!!

These remarkable eruptive loaves are going out to YeastSpotting where you will find a variety of other interesting yeasty items.

Provolone-Cheddar Stuffed Garlic Herb Loaves

Starter:

1 ¼ cups unbleached white flour

1 tsp salt

½ cup active sourdough starter

½ cup water

Dough:

All of the starter

1 ¼ cups water

1 tsp salt

1 ½ cups stone ground whole wheat flour

2 cups unbleached white flour

½ cup active sourdough starter

Filling:

2 cups shredded aged provolone cheese

1 cup shredded aged white cheddar

5 – 6 cloves garlic, minced

3 – 4 tbsp mixed fresh herbs such as rosemary, oregano, thyme, sage, fennel fronds

To make starter: The night before you want to bake, mix together all of the starter ingredients in a large bowl until well combined. Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and leave out on the counter at least 12 hours. The mixture starts out as a dry lump but should expand into a puffy dough lump.

To make dough: Combine starter, water, salt, whole wheat and white flours and sourdough starter. Mix well and then turn out onto a floured board and knead for up to ten minutes until the dough is soft and stops being really sticky. You should be able to stretch the dough without breaking it (window pane test). Grease a large bowl. Set the dough into the bowl and cover with a damp clean towel. If your home is cool, turn your oven on to 350 degrees F. for exactly one minute. Turn off the oven and store the dough in the oven for up to 5 hours or until it has doubled in bulk.

Line your workspace with parchment because this dough is wet and sticky! Turn the dough out onto the parchment, and gently flatten and stretch the dough into a 9” x 12” rectangle. Cover the dough with cheese, garlic and herbs. Roll up cinnamon roll style, beginning from the long end toward you. Cover the dough with the damp towel and allow to rise until extremely puffy but not exactly doubled. Another 2 hours or so.

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F. Line two cookie sheets with parchment. Cut the dough into 4 equal pieces and arrange two pieces cut side up on each sheet. Note: you will have two loaves that are cut on top and bottom. I pinched the bottom seam closed on those two to prevent bottom cheese leakage. Also, you may need to shape the loaves a bit so that they are a bit open on the top, cutting the dough may squish the loaves and you want them to be pretty on top.  Let the dough rest for up to 20 minutes while the oven heats up.

Bake for 20 – 25 minutes until golden brown. Transfer loaves to wire racks to cool. Enjoy while they are still a bit warm so that the cheese will still be soft.

34 Comments

  1. March 23, 2010 at 8:21 pm

    I am making these. Not right now – I am going away – so when I get back. I make bread all of the time and this looks fantastic!
    XOXO

    • Mimi said,

      March 23, 2010 at 9:38 pm

      Don’t do it. You won’t be able to resist it!

  2. ronnie said,

    March 23, 2010 at 9:21 pm

    Oh good lord!

    • Mimi said,

      March 23, 2010 at 9:39 pm

      Oh come on. You know that by tomorrow evening, there will be Golden Retrievers balancing cheese bread on their heads.

  3. Brad said,

    March 23, 2010 at 11:43 pm

    Wow. F is a lucky, if now slightly heavier man. Tell him I said hi.

  4. ohiofarmgirl said,

    March 24, 2010 at 6:59 am

    WOW!!! look at that.. wait.. i need to run and get a started started… BEAUTIFUL. great job!

  5. Andreas said,

    March 24, 2010 at 8:29 am

    Beautiful and hearty food.

  6. Jeanne said,

    March 24, 2010 at 12:47 pm

    I will gladly accept the 5 pounds! This bread looks over-the-top delicious!

  7. przytulanka said,

    March 24, 2010 at 12:47 pm

    They are monsters!

  8. Joanne said,

    March 25, 2010 at 8:41 am

    You have absolutely made my morning with this post. I will gladly gain 5 pounds for this bread. Really. In so much awe right now.

  9. Mimi said,

    March 25, 2010 at 8:49 am

    Thanks Joanne! I think you’ll love this bread.

    I just wanted to tell everyone that even if you don’t have a starter, go to the KA site and look up the original recipe they did with regular yeast. This is definately a good one to have in your repertoire. I refrigerated the leftover loaves. The next day I tossed a loaf into a 350 degree F. oven for about 10 or 15 minutes. The crust got crispy and the cheese melted again. It was so delicious! Almost better than the first day I baked the loaves.

    I imagine these would freeze well too and then you could have a loaf a couple of weeks down the line!

  10. March 25, 2010 at 11:27 pm

    Wow and yum. That’s all I have to say.

  11. March 26, 2010 at 6:30 am

    Ditto Wow and Yum!

    This is exactly what I need to put back my weight, at least 5, since I have been loosing weight at an alarming rate a/b 1 pound/day during my 12-day visit in the mountains. (No, I did not loose quite 12 lbs yet but am very frail)

    Thank you, Mimi.

  12. March 26, 2010 at 8:33 am

    REALLY!? I didn’t need these 5 pounds, thanks! Tritto Wow and Yum! These are illegal in at least 4 states. 🙂

  13. Natashya said,

    March 26, 2010 at 8:48 am

    Oh my, they are calling my name! Totally delicious.

  14. March 26, 2010 at 9:25 am

    those look so amazingly delicious. 3 cups of cheese – you can’t go wrong!

  15. Jeremy said,

    March 26, 2010 at 11:12 am

    Holy Moly those look fine. Roll on winter again, so I can do those with some good bean soup.

  16. Mary said,

    March 26, 2010 at 12:52 pm

    That is fine looking bread! This is my first visit to your blog but I’ll be back often. I really like what you are doing here.

  17. Mamatkamal said,

    March 26, 2010 at 1:30 pm

    Oh la la , Wowwwwwwwwww ABSOLUTELY delicious! I would love to try this one day. Thanks.
    Cheers

  18. Chai Chai said,

    March 26, 2010 at 1:30 pm

    Wow – That looks sooo good. Are you sure it will only be 5 pounds?

  19. Peter said,

    March 26, 2010 at 4:14 pm

    I’ve been resisting adding cheese to my bread because I know that when I do I will eat nothing else.

    • Mimi said,

      March 26, 2010 at 4:28 pm

      Smart man! I think I’ve eaten a mini loaf and half just by myself already. At least they won’t go stale!!

  20. March 27, 2010 at 1:04 am

    […] Provolone-Cheddar Stuffed Garlic Herb Loaves […]

  21. loneilteaches said,

    March 27, 2010 at 5:15 am

    Oh my word – these look heavenly! I think Ive added a couple of pounds just with the picture and recipe!!

  22. drfugawe said,

    March 27, 2010 at 7:03 am

    Oh my goodness! You have gone and outdone yourself, girl – problem is, what do you do to top this? Actually, you’d be forgiven if you took the next sev months off – that top shot is one of the most delicious looking little rolls I’ve even seen – did you use some of the the photo tips you recently picked up? Bet you did.

    And I’m extremely impressed that you had all those varied fresh herbs growing at your house – fantastic!

    • Mimi said,

      March 27, 2010 at 8:28 am

      Thanks for the nice compliments.

      I actually haven’t been upgrading my photography skills yet. What happened? Some kind person got me a monopod for christmas and it improved my pictures by 90%. No more shaky digital photos. I’m finally getting used to using it! The other improvement… daylight savings time. No more under-lit bread pictures as long as they get baked before 7PM. I moved the bread to a spot on the dining room table right in front of a sliding glass door. Instant photo studio!

      I have pots full of herbs. Besides a bay tree, the only herbs that are “awake” yet are rosemary and oregano. Chives and mint are starting to wake up. I bought thyme, sage and fennel for some meals this week and needed to use them up fast. But I love herbs for this sort of thing. The more the better!

  23. nic said,

    March 27, 2010 at 8:31 am

    It looks fantastic; I almost can smell it. I bet it will pair perfectly with a glass of Sangiovese.

  24. rb said,

    March 29, 2010 at 9:34 am

    mmm mmmm mmmm
    you bet i will be making those nuggets o’ cheesy indulgence the next time i get a chance to take old george out for a spin!
    though A may gain an ounce or two (unlike F, who no doubt with will gain nothing but a smile), he will be truly grateful to you.
    i should’ve made them when my eternally- on- the- atkins diet MIL was here- just for the torture value…
    bravo mimi on another culinary tour de force!

  25. Carole S said,

    April 6, 2010 at 11:04 am

    oh, my GOODNESS! I think I gained those 5 lbs virtually. I’m not much of a bread baker (I bake lots of other things, though), but I plan to make this bread. Thanks for the inspiration to bake bread.

  26. AnneMarie said,

    April 10, 2010 at 9:20 am

    Those look so delicious. I wish I could smell them.

  27. Arlette said,

    April 10, 2010 at 7:04 pm

    this is delicious, specially when its hot out of the oven and the cheese id oosing out… Great recipe,

    • Mimi said,

      April 10, 2010 at 7:08 pm

      I’m so happy you made the bread. It is so delicious, I wish everyone would make it!!

  28. Madam Chow said,

    May 26, 2010 at 8:20 am

    OMG. I think I just gained a pound or two.


Leave a comment