Mmmmmmm! Pancakes!

Orange Sourdough Pancakes

It’s time to cook with another blogger.  This yummy recipe for orange sourdough pancakes comes from Biker Chickz recipe blog.  I stumbled on to this recipe one day when looking for new things to do with sourdough.  I cook a lot of pancakes and tend to stick to my old classics so I kept forgetting to try something new until today.  I’m really glad that I tried these!

Since I always want my pancakes to be a little more whole grainy than most, I made some of my typical changes to the recipe.  I used whole wheat pastry flour for the additional flour (my starter is white flour), I used half the sweetener and substituted honey for sugar and then I used olive oil in place of the butter.  For the original recipe and what looks like a very tasty orange syrup go here (we had these with real maple syrup).

Despite my monkeying around with the recipe before I can even try it out, the pancakes came out beautifully!  They were thin and crêpe like.  The flavor of the sourdough was malty and grainy yet wonderfully enhanced by the orange juice.  The pancakes came out a yellow golden color from the fresh orange juice.  We were going to eat the pancakes with yogurt and strawberries, but I had to strip my plate down to just maple syrup and pancakes.  The pancakes were too delicious on their own to be covered up by competing flavors.

Thank you Becky the Biker Chick.  I’ll make these pancakes again and again!

Orange Sourdough Pancakes redux

1 cup whole wheat pastry flour

1 tsp baking powder

½ tsp baking soda

½ tsp salt

1 tbsp honey

2 eggs

1 cup active sourdough starter

1 cup fresh squeezed orange juice

3 tbsp olive oil

In a large bowl, stir together whole wheat pastry flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.  In another medium sized bowl, beat the eggs.  Whisk the following into the eggs:  honey, sourdough starter, orange juice and olive oil.  Mix the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients until just moistened.  Let stand for 5 – 10 minutes.  Batter will be bubbly!

Preheat an electric griddle to 325 degrees.  Ladle out the pancakes so that they are about 4” in diameter.  Let cook until dry and bubbly on the sides (about 2 -3 minutes).  Flip pancakes and cook for about another minute until golden brown.

4 Comments

  1. July 3, 2009 at 6:37 pm

    Thanks for stopping by….lol I’ve made pancakes with sourdough starter to. :)))

  2. July 4, 2009 at 3:08 am

    Using orange juice for the liquid in panacakes – that’s a new one for me, but sounds like a great idea! I think I’ll have to try that. 🙂

  3. Andreas said,

    July 8, 2009 at 8:49 pm

    Those pancakes look excellent.
    I must try these sometime, as pancakes are (for the moment) my kitchen nemesis. They always look and taste like some deep-fried flour-y goo.

  4. Mimi said,

    July 8, 2009 at 9:12 pm

    Hi Andreas,
    Being a huge pancake fan, I think you should try these, they are excellent!!

    The secret is to mix the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients just enough so that the flour is incorporated but no more than that. You don’t want to form gluten. Then the real secret? Let the batter stand for a few minutes so that your leaveners have a chance to puff up the batter and any stray flour can soak up the liquid. I usually wait 10 – 15 minutes before I start griddling. Use just enough butter to keep them from sticking and so they have a nice buttery crisp.


Leave a comment