The Green Titans

 

There is never a shortage of broccoli in this house.  A certain someone who lives with me considers it not only nourishing and tasty but it is a tonic for what ails ya.  Got a pimple?  How about a nasty little tickle in the back of the throat?  You just feel droopy and listless?  Have a bowl of steamy broccoli goodness for breakfast! It’ll perk you right up!  Uh.  Yuck.  I prefer my broccoli as a side dish and only after eleven a.m., thank you very much!

 

 Broccoli never goes to waste in this house but one little thing has often annoyed me about broccoli.  Broccoli is often sold by the pound instead of the bunch and the big heavy stems are always included.  If you want to buy broccoli “crowns”, you will be charged a premium for the service of having someone take a knife and cut the stems off for you.  Either way you end up paying for the stems so you better find a good use for them.  So, what’s a gal to do?  Well, here at Delectable Tidbits, we like to do things the hard way!  Yes Siree!  I’ve had it in the back of my mind that I wanted to try the broccoli slaw recipe in one of my Moosewood cookbooks for quite some time.  The recipe calls for broccoli slaw mix, which consists of shredded broccoli stems, shredded carrots and shredded cabbage.  I always have a plethora of broccoli stems on hand so I figure tonight that I’ll just peel ‘em and shred ‘em myself!  How hard can it be?  My DBF bought the nicest organic broccoli at the Farmer’s Market during the weekend.  Huge stems!  These things looked like tree trunks.  Just gorgeous! Twenty minutes of peeling with a vegetable peeler later, these titans of broccoli goodness were reduced to fist sized lumps of broccoli hearts and I had a sink buried in several inches of peelings.  Now I know why people just buy the pre-shredded mix.  Ugh!

 

Whether you do things the hard way or the easy way.  I highly recommend this slaw recipe.  It is delicious!

 

 Broccoli Slaw

Adapted from the Moosewood Restaurant Simple Suppers

 

6-7 broccoli stems, peeled and shredded

2-3 medium carrots, peeled and shredded

½ cup thinly sliced red cabbage

(or substitute 3-4 cups packed broccoli slaw mix for the above three ingredients)

3- 4 tbsp minced cilantro

1 red pepper, minced

1 tbsp olive oil

1tbp fresh lemon juice

salt and pepper to taste

 

Toss the vegetables with the olive oil, lemon juice, salt and pepper.  Refrigerate for at least twenty minutes. 

 

3 Comments

  1. Corinne said,

    July 29, 2008 at 2:25 pm

    This is a fantastic idea that backs up my stand that EVERYTHING should be used to save money… maybe I’ll have to buy broccoli now, the frozen florets just don’t compare to fresh…

  2. mimi9 said,

    July 29, 2008 at 3:16 pm

    Mollie Katzen, author of the original Moosewood Cookbook, called the heart of the broccoli stem the “Yum-Yum zone”. We affectionately think of them that way. When I steam broccoli or cut it up for things like stir fry, I try to peel up the stems and slice them for extra yummy bits.
    I notice that my Mom will steam whole stalks of broccoli by peeling the stems all the way up to the florets with a vegetable peeler and then steaming the whole thing so that each person gets a whole clump of broccoli, tender stems included.
    I think the variations for using up that half of the broccoli are probably endless. I just haven’t explored it much until yesterday with the slaw.

  3. September 12, 2011 at 1:26 am

    You PEEL the stems??? What a waste of time, energy and nutritious food!!! The trick is to slice them VERY thin; you’ll never notice that they weren’t peeled (if the stems are quite large you may want to chop up the slices some).
    Sometimes I slice up stems along with thinly sliced carrots and thinly sliced celery, add a teaspoon of bacon-ranch dressing and a light sprinkle of shredded cheese, to make a delicious veggie dish.


Leave a Reply

