Where’s Mimi?

GuestPict

I just wanted to give a quickie update to everyone stopping by here as to why there has been no activity here recently.  I have had no real access to a computer for the past couple of weeks.  My parents have no internet access and the good folks at the Scripps Hospital in La Jolla California are providing me with a few minutes a day of access.  Just enough time to approve comments on the blog and see that I have been tagged with a Meme. 

Why am I sitting in a hospital waiting room typing as fast as I can?  Well, my Dad has been dealing with heart problems for years.  He was told to go in for an angiogram months ago and he kept putting it off and putting it off.  He didn’t have a heart attack but he was feeling worse and worse.  He finally admitted himself to the hospital and found out that he needed an immediate QUADRUPAL BYPASS!  My dear Mom is pretty much blind due to her own health problems so I drove down to support her and be her transportation since the hospital is 30 miles from the house and she can’t drive.

My Dad has been in ICU for two weeks.  Today was the first day that he has been alert enough to know we are here.  Today was a very good day.

I am not a religious person.  I fall somewhere between agnosic and atheistic depending on the day and my mood.  I did a little bit of praying this week.  I’m sure God was like, “what the…?”.  If you are reading this and you are religiously inclined, please pray for my Dad that he gets better soon.  If you are not religiously inclined, just send out some good vibes.  Every little bit helps.

D. at Sourdough Monkey Wrangler tagged me for a Meme.  I promise I’ll post my answers as soon as I can.  I’m already sitting here much longer than the 15 minutes I’m allowed for the public computer here. 

So, keep the good vibes going for us and I’ll try to check back soon and keep everyone updated

Thanks for your support and take care!

Mimi

8 Comments

  1. jotimaz said,

    February 27, 2008 at 11:40 pm

    good vibes coming your way from the far north

  2. scholli2000 said,

    February 28, 2008 at 5:54 am

    what a sad explanation for your absence. I hope there will be only good and better days now for your dad and you all.

    scholli, sending good vibes

  3. kevin said,

    February 28, 2008 at 3:37 pm

    Lot’s of prayers coming form Nicole and I. Let us know if we can help in any way!

  4. mimi9 said,

    February 28, 2008 at 10:25 pm

    Thanks for the support everyone. They got my Dad off of the breathing tube a couple of days ago. He’s still in the ICU ward but he is doing a little better. He can talk now (although he keeps chanting, “I want to go home”)and he seems to be becoming aware of his surroundings now

    Kevin, tell everyone at work that I miss them and hope to see you all soon! (Look at me, hoping to go back to work. I must be nuts!)

  5. anthrobabe said,

    March 3, 2008 at 6:52 pm

    Best wishes to your father!

    Good thoughts your way— I completely enjoy your little bit of ‘paradise’ here on the web. When I visit at work and it’s almost getting off time — I think
    mmmmmm, maybe this for dinner or just dessert in lieu of dinner.

  6. mimi9 said,

    March 5, 2008 at 6:32 am

    Anthrobabe,
    Thanks for the nice comments. I’m happy you like the blog and the support for my Dad is great!

    Dad update: I had to go home on Sunday to resume work on Monday. My mom has transportation to the hospital and is continueing here daily vigil there. My Dad is still having a fever everyday and they’re not sure why he is feverish but on a good note, they took some tubes out of him that were helping to clear up a lung infection from being on the breathing tube so long. He is now starting to get eased off of all of the drugs so he is becoming a bit more lucid. He got to eat a little bit of solid food today. Things are looking up!

  7. March 6, 2008 at 3:27 am

    I’m so sorry to hear this! My mom was in an accident once, and was in the ICU for awhile, so I know how scary it can be to go through. I’m glad things are looking up, and I hope he recuperates quickly.

  8. mimi9 said,

    March 8, 2008 at 1:33 am

    The past couple of days brought good news. My Dad was doing really well as of Wednesday. He was sitting up and talking lucidly. My Mom called me today to let me know he is out of ICU and ready to start physical therapy.

    Thanks again for your kind thoughts. It really helped me get through a tough time.


Leave a Reply

